Neighbors Federal Credit Union has been named to the annual Forbes Magazine list of the Best-In-State Credit Unions.

Baton Rouge-based Neighbors was the 2023 Louisiana honoree.

The list is based on an independent survey of about 26,000 people and publicly available reviews.

Neighbors has more than 76,000 members and over $1 billion in assets. The credit union got its start in 1954 as Baton Rouge Teachers.


Dr. Shaun Kemmerly, chief medical officer of Our Lady of the Lake Children’s Hospital, was presented with the 2023 Master Pediatrician Award by the Louisiana Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Kemmerly has been chief medical officer of the hospital since 2013. She played an integral role in building and operating the free-standing children's hospital, which opened in 2019.

She earned her medical degree from the LSU School of Medicine in New Orleans and completed a pediatric residency at the University of Florida.


Meredith Hathorn, managing partner with Foley & Judell in Baton Rouge, was reelected to serve as chair of the Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board for another year.

The board protects and strengthens the municipal bond market and is overseen by the Securities and Exchange Commission and Congress.

Hathorn was elected to the board in 2020. Her term was set to expire at the end of the month, but she was selected to serve another year as the board transitions from 21 to 15 members.

Hathorn has been with Foley & Judell since 1985.

She earned an undergraduate degree from LSU and a law degree from the Tulane University School of Law.


The Greater Baton Rouge Industry Alliance Inc. presented its annual Craft Workforce Development Awards to industrial construction and maintenance contract companies who demonstrated excellence in investing in workforce development programs.

Size-based Best of Division Awards went to Triad Electric and Controls, Division 1; ISC Constructors, Division II; and Turner Industries Group, Division III.

Champions Awards were presented to Paul Theriot, West Feliciana High School, and Richard Todd, ExxonMobil and Baton Rouge Community College.

Named as Hall of Famers for leadership qualities in workforce development were Glen Redd, Triad Electric and Controls, and Roland Toups, Turner Industries Group.

Awards by category and size were:

General Construction & Maintenance: Award of Merit: Action Industries, Brown & Root Industrial Services, Performance Contractors and Zachry Group.

Award of Excellence: Cajun Industries, EXCEL, Turner Industries Group and Worley.

Specialty Trade (Hard Craft): Award of Excellence: ISC Constructors, MMR Group, Triad Electric and Controls and Westgate.

Specialty Contractors: Award of Recognition: Acuren Inspection and Total Safety.

Award of Merit: Moore Industries, PALA?and Precision Welding Testing and Training.

Award of Excellence: Petrin and Turner Specialty Services.


Atoyia Scott Harris, an attorney at Proskauer Rose in New Orleans, has accepted an invitation to join the International Association of Defense Counsel.

The group is an invitation-only global legal organization for attorneys who represent corporate and insurance interests.

Harris, special employment law counsel with Proskauer, focuses her practice on employment litigation.

She earned a bachelor's of music, magna cum laude, from Loyola University New Orleans and her law degree from Loyola University New Orleans College of Law.


William S. Wainwright been selected as a member of the Committee of 100 for Economic Development.

Wainwright is president of Southeastern Louisiana University. He was appointed to the job by the Board of Supervisors of the University of Louisiana system this spring. Before that, he spent 12 years as chancellor of Northshore Technical Community College.


The Jefferson Chamber Foundation has announced its Leadership Jefferson Class of 2024.

The nine-month program is designed to develop a diverse network of dedicated business and community leaders.

The 45 members are: Stephen Abadie, Impetus; Semaj Allen-Raymond, Jefferson Parish Schools; Kevin Avery, Gretna Economic Development Association; Paula Belanger, Jefferson Ready Start Network; Kenny Belou, T. Baker Smith; Jim Blazek Jr., Leaaf Environmental; Julie Borsch, New Orleans Saints and Pelicans; Katie Bourque, The Ehrhardt Group; Gary Brenner, Hannis T. Bourgeois; Carlos Calix, Ochsner Health; Elizabeth Cigali-Manshel, ITC Creative Branding; Anna Ciolino, Ciolino Drugs, DBA J.A.C. Pharmacy; Tamara Dioubate,?Priority Health Care; Jacob Fisher, Jefferson Financial Federal Credit Union; Michele Fontenot, Peoples Health; Stephanie Fos, Bourgeois Bennett CPAs; Carlos Garcia, Jefferson Chamber of Commerce; Ashlyn H. Charbonnet, Home Builders Association of Greater New Orleans; Christopher Harpster, New Orleans Saints and Pelicans; Claire Heckerman-Whitehead, Laureate Academy Charter School; Daphne Hernandez, OnPath Federal Credit Union; Meghan Holmes, True Title of Metairie; Kayla Jacob, Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson; Rachael Johns, Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy; Wendy Jones, Jones Orthodontics; Shannalyn LaCroix, Citizens National Bank; and?Liz Lambert, Riess LeMieux.

Also,?Quentin Marks, Red River Bank; Matt Morgan, Urban Systems; Matt Nalls, LaPorte CPAs & Business Advisors; Patti Pannell, Gotcha Covered HR; Amelia Pellegrin, City of Gretna; Paula Polito, Beary Cherry Tree; Stacy Rhone, JEDCO; Darrell Rogers, Inclusivcare; Lauren Ruppel, Jefferson Parish Finance Authority; Dana Scardino, Primary Care Plus; Meggie Schmidt, Renaissance Publishing; Jim Schoen, Fidelity Bank; Dana Silvey, First Horizon Bank; Josh St. Romain, Outfront Media; Tisheata Stallings, Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy; D.J. Taylor, Entergy; Lindsay Thibodeaux, Greater New Orleans Federal Credit Union; and Maddie Williams, Design Engineering.